“Why are you asking all these questions??”

Staff Writer: Jordan Van Dyke

This being the first article for the senior column for the new school year, I wanted to start things off short and simple with a student profile. This month I sat down with my absolute best friend, Payton Chatham so readers could get to know her just as I know her to be the most funny, charismatic individual I have ever met. I started off by asking Payton a few questions about her plans for her last year in high school and what her plans are for after high school. I also asked a few random question’s so readers could get to know her a little bit better. I hope you enjoy!

1.  Do you see any differences in the first month of this school year compared to past years?

Yes, my freshman and sophomore years I was super unmotivated to work and get the good grades I needed and same goes for last year and this year I have worked really hard.

2.  Have you decided what you are going to do for your Senior Capstone? If so, what?

I am shadowing Ms. Grantham in her biology classes and discussing what I need to do to get into KSU.

3. How do you feel about this year’s senior capstone requirements? Do you think it seems easier or harder?

I think it’s much easier and there is some good applications for it. I believe it will be more beneficial than past senior projects and students won’t be so stressed out.

4. What are you anticipating will be the hardest part of senior year?

I am anticipating the hardest part will be getting a reliable job and getting my collegiate life set up.

5. What are some steps you are taking towards college? Besides senior capstone.

Well I plan on going to KSU and getting my bachelors so I have to keep my grades up. I am hoping for the hope scholarship and not having to pay full price for college tuition.

6. Do you think senior capstone will actually benefit you and prepare you for the future?

I do because I’ve already learned so much about what i need to do to have a successful life and what my goals are for the future.

7. What has been your favorite part of High School if you had to choose one?

Leaving. I never thrived in high school and there is just such a big maturity difference between me and a lot of the students in high school and I’m ready to move on and be able to work with adults and not have to ask someone if I can go to the bathroom.

8. What has been your least favorite part of High School if you had to choose one?

My least favorite memory would have to be dealing with unnecessary drama that should have never been a part of my life. i dealt with people the first two years of high school that I never should have. They messed with my head and it affected my grades.

 

9. What are some extracurricular activities you have done and currently do?

NJROTC, Sea Scouts,  Books for Africa, Woodstock Jaycees, etc.

10. What got you involved in Sea Scouts and what do you guys do?

Anna Fournaris actually introduced it to me even though she’s not in it anymore. We sail and learn a lot of water and boat related things.

11.Tell me a little bit about your family.

My mom and dad met and had me in 2001, my mom was 19 and my dad was 26. My dad’s side of the family is from Ireland and they are kind of rough around the edges. I have 6 siblings and I’m a middle child.

12.What is your favorite animal and why?

I love all the animals in the world, bugs are a no for me and i will run very far away from wasps.  I want to be a veterinarian and I love all kinds of animals.

13. You’re a new addition to the crayon box, what color would you be and why? Go into detail.

My favorite color is indigo because it doesn’t conform. It’s neither blue, nor purple. it’s both. so I would be some variation of indigo.

14. What is the funniest thing that has happened to you recently?

I gave my nana (my great grandmother) my senior pictures and she goes “oooo those are sexy.”

15. Is there anything else you would like to add about yourself?

Why you asking all these questions?

I was born in Cartersville.

My full name is Payton Renee Chatham.

lived in Missouri, Tennessee, Georgia, Louisiana, and Alabama.

I’ve lived with my mom until 8th grade when i moved in with my dad.

I am 17 and will graduate while I am 17.

I want to transfer to UGA after KSU to get my doctoral degree to become a veterinarian.

Photo Credit: Payton Chatham

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: